Weddings: Pain in the Butt or Opportunity to Get Creative? Part 2

In the first part of this short wedding series, I shared with you my experience with budget making, relationship issues and people involved in the wedding planning. This whole “most beautiful day of our lives” thing is a rocky journey and here are a few more aspects I found essential for reaching the destination.

Harmony is the key word in a wedding

When I say “harmony” I don’t only reffer to your relationship or state of mind, but to more visible aspects, such as: colors, music, decorations, invitations, timing and attires.

First, we chose a theme – butterflies – and decided to use it whenever we could, without being tacky. We put butterflies on the invitations, menu and placement cards – same graphics, made by the same designer, as well as on the cake. Our color palette consisted of green, lime, orange, yellow and gold, mixed differently on the invitations, wedding cake, flowers, bouquet, etc… We only realised the pleasant effect this created after the wedding, when we received great feedback and people called to ask who we worked with, how we did it, how much we paid, because they wanted something similar for their weddings too.

Wedding Reception Menu

Reception menu

Tips for brides-to-be:

  • Do not underestimate the power of color in a wedding, it’s almost as important as your dress. If it doesn’t speak to you, if you don’t feel like it represents you, dismiss it and choose another one.
  • Don’t follow trends or advice, just try to personalize it as much as you can. Sometimes, the kind of flowers you choose is less important then the color they are.
  • And it doesn’t have to be expensive to be beautiful. Go on websites like Etsy, or The Perfect Palette you will find lots of ideas that will help you stay within budget limits and still have everything you want.
Butterfly wedding cake

Our wedding cake

Color coordinated cookies

Cupcakes macaroons, in the same color palette as the cake and menu

Coping with the stress: Do It Yourself

Oftentimes I found myself frozen with fear: what if it doesn’t look good, what if people won’t show up for the wedding, what if the colors won’t look good mixed together? Those times, I took my laptop, went on Etsy and started browsing for ideas. I found out how to make tissue paper pom-poms, how to make decorations, I saw how to mix the colors I had chosen and I actually started doing things by myself. I made a lot of decorations for our yard, where a part of the wedding took place, and it helped me become more relaxed, more confident that things were on the right path. Basically, I just took my mind off stressful things, by doing creative stuff for my wedding.

Here’s what came out:

Tissue paper decorations

Decorations that me and my friend Ioana made

Don’t think of the wedding as a chore, but as a way of developing new skills. Take it upon yourself to do small decorations, or even the party favors, if you’re talented, and it will help you unwind and get lots of great ideas. Involve close friends or the bridesmaids and you’re in for days of fun and laughter.

Stay tuned for more, as Part 3 is coming: The wedding attire and wedding day events.

One thought on “Weddings: Pain in the Butt or Opportunity to Get Creative? Part 2

  1. Pingback: Weddings: Pain in the Butt or Opportunity to Get Creative? Part 3 | Gabriela S.

Leave a Reply

